The Art of Naming Kittens

kitten

The Naming Of Cats
by T. S. Eliot

The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,
It isn’t just one of your holiday games;
You may think at first I’m as mad as a hatter
When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.”

And you might ask, “So how many kittens do you have, that it requires a post about naming them?”
And maybe you’re wondering if I’m one of those Crazy Cat Ladies.  I don’t think I am.  I have 4 cats.  Is that a lot?  I actually heard someone say,
“I only have 11 cats…”
No, really, I heard an actual person say those very words.  ONLY?!

But right, back to WHY am I posting about naming kittens.  Surely my job there is done.  2 9-year-olds, a 6-year-old, and a 6-month-old, haven’t I figured out SOMETHING to call them by now?  LOL, yeah BUT I foster kittens!  That’s right!  I work with a local rescue org.  They trap them from feral colonies or get called out to rescue kittens that have been abandoned in foreclosed houses or renters being evicted and they don’t want the cats and kittens anymore.  The rescue group rescues and I take them home and raise them up until they are adopted to their forever homes.  I’m there when to take them home from their spay/neuter surgery.  I’m there when they eat their first canned food, the first time they play with a toy, and I’m there to teach them where to do their nails and to make sure everyone is fully litter trained.  That means hot and cold running kittens all the time!

SONY DSCFinally, this morning, after 3 weeks, we have officially named the latest 5 kittens.  It was a tough choice and they’re still babies (7-weeks-old) so their personalities will change some but I think the names are pretty age-neutral.  Keeping in mind that they are all grey.  There is one female.  One has a small white patch.  One is fluffier than the others.  And that’s the only physical differences, we even had to put ribbons on them to tell them apart.  Naming this group was particularly difficult.  Do I go all weather?  Fog, Mist, Stormy?  Do I go with Pewter, Silver, Quicksilver?  How about Indigo or Blue Velvet?
Here they are: Silverbelle (girl), Blaze (white patch), Silvermist (fluffier), Romeo (he’s sooo loving!), & Decibel (he’s a talker and he’s loud)!

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSCIt’s not easy naming kittens.  Not only do I have to like the name but sometimes they end up keeping the name in their new homes!  Don’t want to do anyone a disservice with an off-the-cuff quick name, you know?

“But above and beyond there’s still one name left over,
And that is the name that you never will guess;
The name that no human research can discover–
But THE CAT HIMSELF KNOWS, and will never confess.”

Leave a Reply

